Tags

, , , ,

I grew up thinking that meditation was a ‘fringe thing’ consigned to the world of tie die, mung beans and self indulgence. I’m too busy to waste time on that nonsense. When I’m ready to build my own pyramid, sit in a field somewhere and chant ‘ohmm’, maybe I’ll have a place for it, maybe.

Thankfully, a lot has happened for me in working life to challenge these views and I now see a crucial place for meditative practice in the lives of most of the people I work with. Meditation is a little like organised religion. Sometimes you have to look past the pomp and ceremony in order to identify with the spirituality that is at it’s heart. Meditation is similar. Look for elements of it’s practice and it presents itself in most cultures in one form or another. Whilst the ceremony surrounding it might differ, the core elements don’t. Transcending self to another state, expanding consciousness, personal growth, discovery and peace. Happiness.

The other thing that you notice is that this information isn’t new. In fact, it’s really old. It has been taught for as long as people have been conscious entities. So why then do we see it as a remedial strategy? Why isn’t it taught as a core life skill?

Why couldn’t it be?

